December 15, 2016  //  By:   //  News  //  Comments are off

There was a buzz in the air at the Westin Seattle on November 19 and 20th. Over 700 bright, motivated students from across the state of Washington, including 36 from Bainbridge High School, gathered for the third annual Pacific Model United Nations (PACMUN). With binders tucked under their arms and name tags declaring the country they represented, they eagerly prepared to tackle global issues ranging from the proliferation of nuclear weapons to providing aid to international refugees, all over the course of five committee sessions.

PACMUN is a nonprofit conference founded in 2014. Since its creation, it has grown into the largest conference in Washington, with over 700 students attending from across the state. As stated by its official website, “PACMUN’s mission is to spread awareness of the United Nations, to motivate students to become more actively involved in local and global affairs, and to inspire students to change the world.”

First-time delegate Kash Irani described the Midnight Crisis, a committee taking place from 12 AM to 2 PM and centered around solving a fictional international crisis, as her favorite part of the conference. “It got all crazy,” she said. “We were all tired and caffeinated and it was a really good bonding experience with people I’ll probably never see again.”

PACMUN is run by all-student secretariat and staff. Eight students from Bainbridge’s delegation staffed at this year’s conference – Andy Kruse, who served as the USG of Committees; Annabelle Hill, Director of the Joint Crisis Committee; Phoebe Liebling, Director of the European Union; Andrew Stahl, Assistant Director of the International Court of Justice; Scott Musselwhite, Chair of the Historical Crisis Committee; Olivia Ison, Chair of the UNODC; Daisy Bell, Chair of the UN Human Rights Council; and Emma Grace, Assistant Director of CELAC.

Bainbridge MUN completed the conference with no shortage of awards: Sam Liebling won best delegate on the Historical Crisis Committee, Sean Liberman won outstanding delegate on the Joint Crisis Committee, Zora Opalka won outstanding delegate in the US Senate, Andrew Beckett won outstanding delegate on the Historical Crisis Committee, and Eric Miller won honorable mention delegate on the Historical Crisis Committee. Go delegates!

A special thanks goes out to Mara Liebling and Larry Holland for making MUN possible, as well Debbie and Stuart Ison, Kristin Glenn, Mike Glenn, and Christina Opalka for chaperoning the conference.
Model United Nations develops communication skills, promotes collaboration between students, and encourages them to dig deeper into global issues. Bainbridge’s MUN club meets Mondays after school at 1:45.

About the Author :